Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Philosophy

A guide to resources for the study of Philosophy

Faculty by Area

 

Name Phone   Title Specific Area of Focus Email
Dr. Donald Bungum (701) 355-8023

Assistant Professor of Philosophy, Catholic Studies 

Epistemology, Logic, Philosophy of Religion

djbungum@umary.edu
Dr. Scott Cleveland (701) 355-8192

Director of Catholic Studies, Assistant Professor of Philosophy 

Ethics, Philosophical Theology,Medieval Philosophy

wscleveland@umary.edu
Dr. David Echelbarger (701) 355-8057

Chair of Philosophy, Associate Professor of Philosophy 

Ethics, Moral Psychology 

dtechelbarger@umary.edu
Dr. Michael Hickman (701) 355-8038

Chair of Politics and Pre-Professions, Assistant Professor of Philosophy

Political Philosophy, Political Theory, Philosophy of Law

mfhickman@umary.edu
Dr. Daniel Sportiello (701) 355-8109 Assistant Professor of Philosophy Ethics, Ancient Philosophy,  Modern Philosophy dsportiello@umary.edu
Dr. Jeremy Skrzypek (701) 355-8296 Assistant Professor of Philosophy Metaphysics, Medieval Philosophy, Philosophy of Religion  jwskrzypek@umary.edu
Dr. John Macias (701) 355-3707 Residence Life Scholar, Assistant Professor of Philosophy and Catholic Studies Ethics, Political Philosophy jmmacias@umary.edu