The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Content: Primary Sources on topics including U.S. and World History, Ethnic and Gender Studies, American Government, and Religious Studies.
Purpose: Intended primarily for students and faculty of History, though scholars across many disciplines will benefit from access to historical documents from their field of study.
Special Features: Allows for browsing by collection, as well as searching within a subject. Most items can be read in the browser or downloaded for offline use.
The most frequently-used databases
Content: One search that covers all of UMary's subscribed EBSCO databases.
Purpose: Search for articles, eBooks, and more from multiple disciplines with these EBSCO databases.
Content: Interdisciplinary, scholarly content in a wide variety of formats, including magazines, scholarly journals, newspapers, video, and more.
Librarian's Note: Though both this database and Gale in Context: College cover similar bases, and have some overlap, very little is duplicated. Both are worth looking into.
Purpose: Provides users with a diverse collection of content covering many topics across many source types.
Special Features: Includes topic browser by subject. Integrates with GSuite and Microsoft 360 tools, as well as many citation managers.
Content: Scholarly articles, books, images, and primary sources in many academic fields, especially arts, literature, humanities, and biology.
Purpose: JSTOR (short for Journal STORage) is one of UMary's largest databases of multidisplinary materials.
Special Features: Along with many other limiters useful for narrowing down search results, users are able to search within the results of their initial search.
Content: Interdisciplinary, scholarly content in subjects including health sciences, humanities, materials sciences, social sciences, ethnic studies, and more.
Purpose: Provides access to a large number of full-text journal articles as well as bibliographic entries for items available via interlibrary loan covering a wide range of subjects.
Special Features: In addition to robust search-level filters, there are several tools for exploratory browsing by discipline and/or subject.
