Content: One search that covers all of UMary's subscribed EBSCO databases.
Purpose: Search for articles, eBooks, and more from multiple disciplines with these EBSCO databases.
EBSCO is committed to providing all users with access to their various products, declaring that “Libraries are for everyone.” Some of the key features available on all their products include:
- Text-to-speech for all full-text articles
- Transcripts for audiovisual materials
- Descriptive page titles and alt text for important images
- Keyboard-only navigation
- EPUB and DRM-free format for many eBook titles
See EBSCO's full accessibility statement and features Here.
Content: Interdisciplinary, scholarly content in a wide variety of formats, including magazines, scholarly journals, newspapers, video, and more.
Librarian's Note: Though both this database and Gale in Context: College cover similar bases, and have some overlap, very little is duplicated. Both are worth looking into.
Purpose: Provides users with a diverse collection of content covering many topics across many source types.
Special Features: Includes topic browser by subject. Integrates with GSuite and Microsoft 360 tools, as well as many citation managers.
Highlights of Gale's accessibility features include:
- Built-in screen reader
- Keyboard navigation controls,
- Adjustable font sizes, colors, and types
- Transcripts and closed captions of video and audio content
- and much more
See Gale's full accessibility policy and features Here.
Content: Scholarly articles, books, images, and primary sources in many academic fields, especially arts, literature, humanities, and biology.
Purpose: JSTOR (short for Journal STORage) is one of UMary's largest databases of multidisplinary materials.
Special Features: Along with many other limiters useful for narrowing down search results, users are able to search within the results of their initial search.
JSTOR is committed to ensuring digital accessibility for persons with disabilities.
- Text-to-speech for all full-text articles
- Descriptive page titles and alt text for important images
- Keyboard-only navigation
- Careful attention to heading structure for understanding page hierarchy
See JSTOR's full accessibility statement and features Here.
Content: Interdisciplinary, scholarly content in subjects including health sciences, humanities, materials sciences, social sciences, ethnic studies, and more.
Purpose: Provides access to a large number of full-text journal articles as well as bibliographic entries for items available via interlibrary loan covering a wide range of subjects.
Special Features: In addition to robust search-level filters, there are several tools for exploratory browsing by discipline and/or subject.
SageJournals is committed to constantly improve their site's accessibility standards, and current features include:
- Adjustable text type and size
- Screen reader compatibility
- WCAG complient color contrast
- Alternative text for visual content
- and more…
See SageJournals' full accessibility statement and features Here.