Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Respiratory Therapy

This resource is designed to make research simpler for undergraduate respiratory therapy students.

Databases for Respiratory Therapy Research

These databases can be accessed both on and off campus by using your UMary email address and password. 
Nursing and Allied Health Sciences

CINAHL 

This popular database is a cumulative index to nursing and allied health literature. Indexing for nearly 5,500 journals. This provides full text access for more than 1,300 journal articles within the index.

Acland's Anatomy

Acland's Anatomy is an online platform for the delivery of more than 300 narrated videos of real cadaver specimens. This series uses human specimens that have not been embalmed to illustrate anatomical structures. The video teaching aid uses simple language and high quality images. 

General Databases

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF files are available for over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. 

Additional Databases

Health Source - Consumer Edition

This database is a collection of consumer health information, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.  

Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition

This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

MEDLINE with Full Text

Medline with Full Text provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Additionally, the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.

Nursing Reference Center

The Nursing Reference Center web-based nursing reference system designed to provide the latest evidence-based clinical information for nursing practice, education, and research at the point-of-care.

Interlibrary Loan

The Welder Library Interlibrary Loan Policy explains what you need to do set up an ILLIAD account. Once you set that up, you may log in and use the account for requesting resources not held at the Welder Library. You will be able to:

  • Submit request(s)
  • Track request(s)
  • Check due dates
  • Renew items
  • View borrowing history
  • Access material delivered electronically   

Online students must use ILLIAD to request books and media held by the Welder Library, as well as surrounding libraries. It is vital that all students, both on campus and online, establish an ILLIAD account to obtain needed library materials. Books and media requested by online students will be forwarded to students by mail. Online students are responsible for return postage to return the item to Welder Library.

Interlibrary Loan Borrowing Policy   

Note: Articles delivered to your ILLIAD account are only accessible for 30 days. After 30 days the software will display grayed out icons of article PDFs in your history, and you will no longer be able to access the article. If you need articles longer, you may want to keep a print or electronic copy when you first receive it.

For more information on ILLIAD, check out this Interlibrary Loan Tutorial.