Athletic Training & Kinesiology

Best Bets are databases and journals Welder Library subscribes to or allow for open access. Please start your research using these resources. Other resources found here are available at Welder Library or on the internet. Use our Interlibrary Loan service to request the article you are looking for. 

Tips

• In the databases, look for PDF links or HTML full text links when searching CINAHL, MEDLINE, etc. 
• If full text is not available through the databases, articles can be requested through Interlibrary Loan. The article will be delivered to your UMary email and will take about 3 to 4 business days.  

Best Bets: 

• CINAHL Complete - A comprehensive source of full text for nursing and allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. Provides content and supports occupational therapy, physical therapy, and respiratory therapy programs.
• JSTOR - Provides essential scholarly journals in many academic fields. 
• MEDLINE with Full Text - Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
• PubMed - PubMed is a free database containing biomedical literature from scientific databases such as MEDLINE, life science journals, and mpre.

Cochrane Databases:

• Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials - This database is a highly concentrated source of reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials.
• Cochrane Clinical Answers - Cochrane Clinical Answers provides clinically-focused information for point-of-care decision-making. Each CCA contains a clinical question, a short answer, and data for the outcomes from the Cochrane.
• Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - This is the leading journal and database for systematic reviews in health care. 
• Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials - This database contains publications that report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials. It includes journal articles, books, and conference proceedings, and the content is sourced from MEDLINE and hand searches. 

Other Resources 

• Academic Search Ultimate - This database provides access to more than 30,000 active full text journals and magazines cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law, literacy, mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
• Sage Premier - This searchable database of bibliographic records provides full text journal articles. Over 1,070 journals are indexed. Journals cover topics in area studies, ethnic and gender studies, humanities, health sciences, materials science, and the social sciences.