Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physical Therapy

Physical Therapy Databases

Best Bets are databases and journals Welder Library subscribes to or allows for open access. Start your research using these resources. Other resources found here are available at Welder Library or on the Internet. Use our Interlibrary Loan service to request articles you are looking for.

Tips 

  • In the databases, look for PDF links or HTML full text links when searching CINAHL, MEDLINE, etc. 
  • If full text is not available through the databases, articles can be requested through Interlibrary Loan. The article will be delivered to your UMary email and will take about 3 to 4 business days. 

Best Bet

  • CINAHL Complete - A comprehensive source of full text for nursing and allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. Provides content and supports nursing, occupational therapy, physical therapy, and respiratory therapy programs.

Cochrane Databases

  • Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials - a highly concentrated source of reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials.
  • Cochrane Clinical Answers - provides a readable, digestible, clinically-focused information for point-of-care decision-making. Each CCA contains a clinical question, a short answer, and data for the outcomes from the Cochrane.
  • Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - The leading journal and database for systematic reviews in health care. CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials and supplements.
  • Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials - A bibliography of publications that report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials. It includes journal articles, books, and conference proceedings, and the content is sourced from MEDLINE and hand searches. CMR contains studies of methods used in reviews and more general methodological studies that could be relevant to anyone preparing systematic reviews.

Other Resources 

  • Acland's Anatomy - Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy is an online platform for the delivery of more than 300 narrated videos of real cadaver specimens. The series uses unembalmed human specimens to illustrate anatomical structures. The video teaching aid uses simple language and high quality images. It is intended for use by medical, dental, nursing, and medical science students. 
  • PubMed - Contains more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. 
  • PsycINFO - Resources for abstracts of scholarly journals articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health.